Two More Republicans Leaving House: One Running for Senate

Rep. Kevin J. Cramer (R-ND) announced February 16 that he will be running for the U.S. Senate this November against Heidi Heitkamp, who is coming to the end of her first term representing North Dakota.

Heitkamp talks like a moderate back in North Dakota but votes like a liberal in Washington, DC. For example, she voted against the important tax cut bill in December that is putting more money into the pockets of the American taxpayer and helping businesses create more jobs. Heitkamp can be defeated in November.

Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-SC-4) had also announced he will not seek re-election in November and plans to leave politics. Gowdy has been known for his sharp questioning of witnesses when he was heading the Benghazi select committee and as Chairman of House Oversight and Government Reform Committee.

This is a seat that can be won by a solid conservative. CVF will be keeping this seat high on our list.

Republican Open House seats November 2018

To date, thirty-two Republican members of the U.S. House of Representatives have announced they will not be seeking re-election in November 2018. Most will be retiring from politics. The dozen running for Senator or Governor are marked with "*" in the list below.

Many are solid conservatives. Some are not. Conservatives need to win as many of these seats are possible. Conservative Victory Fund will be involved in the campaigns for many of these seats to help ensure conservatives are elected.

District Current Incumbent
AZ-2 Martha McSally *
CA-39 Ed Royce
CA-49 Darrell Issa
FL-6 Ron DeSantis *
FL-27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
ID-1 Raul Labrador *
IN-4 Todd Rokita *
IN-6 Luke Messer *
KS-2 Lynn Jenkins
MI-11 Dave Trott
MS-3 Gregg Harper
NJ-2 Frank LoBiondo
NJ-11 Rodney P. Frelinghuysen
NM-2 Steve Pearce *
OH-16 James Renacci *
PA-7 Patrick Meehan
PA-9 Bill Shuster
PA-11 Lou Barletta *
PA-15 Charlie Dent
SD-0 Kristi Noem *
TN-2 John J. Duncan Jr.
TN-6 Diane Black *
TN-7 Marsha Blackburn *
TX-2 Ted Poe
TX-3 Sam Johnson
TX-5 Jeb Hensarling
TX-6 Joe Barton
TX-21 Lamar Smith
TX-27 Blake Farenthold
VA-6 Bob Goodlatte
WA-9 Dave Reichert
WV-3 Evan Jenkins *
Sign up for the Newsletter: